tumblr youtube spotify email website pinterest googleplus
Jun 28, 2017
Shares
Share Tweet 0 Comments

Uber has introduced a new feature where its users can book a ride for friends, family, and people other than themselves that they want to give a lift via the ride-sharing service.

According to TechCrunch, Uber rolled out the new feature on Tuesday so users with the latest version of the app will now be able to use it.

With the new feature, users will be prompted whether you or “someone else” will be using Uber’s services. Choosing the latter will pull up your phone’s contact list where you are required to select a person from so you could set them as the passenger.

That person then gets a text message from Uber with travel details such as the driver’s name and contact information, plus a link that tracks the progress of their trip on a map.

As for who’s going to foot the bill, the user who booked the ride will have the amount charged to their Uber account by default unless their country supports a cash payment option.

Although booking a ride for someone else isn’t technically new, this feature basically removes all the hassles that come with bypassing Uber’s system, including that annoying moment when you’re playing middleman to relay messages between your friend and the driver.

Uber also said they added this feature having the elderly in mind since most grandparents are not tech-savvy enough to tinker with smartphones, let alone install the Uber app.

 

READ MORE ARTICLES ABOUT
COMMENTS

LATEST STORIES

LOAD MORE STORIES