Sorry, no results were found for

New UFL Season Kicks Off this Saturday!

Big, big year for Philippine football
by Mikey Agulto | Jan 11, 2012
Most Popular

The new season of the United Football League will kick off at the Rizal Memorial Stadium this Saturday, January 14, and weekly games will now be broadcasted courtesy of sports channel AKTV on IBC 13!

[firstpara] Opening the new season are Chieffy Caligdong and the Air Force Phoenix as they look to defend their coveted name against Aly Borromeo and the Kaya Cignal FC.

The game will be followed by a match-up between Phil Younghusband’s Loyola Meralco Sparks and Patrick Bacobo’s Green Archers United FC.

It’s like a collision of national team players once again!

The league will feature several blockbuster changes this time around, courtesy of a new division system. Contrary to the previous group categories, the UFL league competitions will now have a first division consisting of 10 teams and a second division made up of 12 sides. The teams with the best records after a double-round robin competition emerge as the champions in their respective divisions.

A win is worth three points, while a draw is equivalent to a point in the championship race that could prove to be a very tight race considering the quality of teams seeing action in the tournaments. Most teams will have a total of 18 games each, which will run from January all the way until June. That’s lots’a regular football on TV!

In line with the new system and an expanded roster, Air Force head coach Edzel Bracamonte only had this to say: “”We’re ready to defend our title, but we know it will be tough because all the teams have gotten stronger.”

Check out the top flight teams of the first division: the defending champions Air Force Phoenix, Kaya FC, Loyola Meralco, Global FC, Green Archers United Orient Freight, the Navy Red Juice, Nomads Auction Manila, Stallion FC, and Pasargad FC.

And then there’s the bottom-ranked but equally competitive second division: the Sunken Garden United, Manila All-Japan, the Dolphins, Manila Lions, Union Internacionale Manila, Pachanga FC, Team Socceroo, Forza, Agila, Laos FC, Diliman, and the Cebu Queen City United.

Here’s to hoping our country’s UFL fan base reaches that of the PBA, and more. For game schedules and league information, log on to

Continue reading below ↓
Most Popular
Latest Stories
Most Popular